Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomePatricia Murphy Coleman Memorial Paralegal Scholarship

Patricia Murphy Coleman Memorial Scholarship


Since 1972, the Illinois Paralegal Association (IPA) has been a leading voice for paralegals in Illinois.  The IPA exists because of our founders’ efforts and the many IPA members who have given their time and talents to make the IPA the organization it is today.

In February of 2017 the paralegal field lost one of its champions, Patricia Murphy Coleman, when she passed away.  Pat was the first paralegal at the Chicago law firm of Vedder Price from where she retired in 2010.  She served as President of the IPA from 1986-1988, as well as holding many other offices, and created the IPA’s quarterly publication, Outlook.  She received the Local Leader of the Year award from the National Federation of Paralegal Associations and the IPA Lifetime Achievement Award.  Those who knew her best will tell you she was model of professionalism and dedication to the paralegal field.  

Each year, the IPA sells scholarship pins to raise funds for the scholarship.  At the Paralegal Day luncheon that takes place at the IPA’s annual Fall Education Conference, the recipient of the award is announced and presented with the scholarship certificate.

IPA presented its first Patricia Murphy Coleman Memorial Scholarship to Brianne Turner at the 2019 Fall Education Conference.  Funds for the scholarship were raised by donations through the purchase of IPA pins. Barkley Court Reporters graciously sponsored the initial purchase of the pins, One Legal sponsored the 2019-2020 pins, and U.S. Legal Support sponsored the 2020 Virtual Notorious RBG Exhibit to raise funds for the 2021 Scholarship.  The IPA continues to sell pins for $10 each with every dollar received going to the scholarship fund.  To get your IPA pin and support paralegal education, contact

What can you do?
  • If you are a paralegal student and would like more information on the scholarship, email
  • If you are a vendor partner and would like more information on sponsoring the scholarship pin, email
  • If you would like to make a monetary donation to the scholarship fund, email
  • If you would like to purchase a 2019, and/or 2020 pin, email
Details for the 2021 Scholarship, including the application, can be found here.

Thank you in advance for your support.

Previous Scholarship Recipients

Brianne Turner, 2019

Lisa Henricks, 2020